February 8, 2012
You’re Stretching the Limits of My Disbelief Suspenders, Guys.

        Does anyone else find it condescending and obnoxious when American television shows have a Hollywood gorgeous actress play a “frumpy” or supposedly “ugly” character? She’s normally tall and slender enough to be a model, has classical Hollywood features, wears perfect makeup and has a beautiful complexion. But for some reason the “less beautiful” (by warped and bigoted Western standards of beauty which are by no means legitimate) women are supposed to associate with her because someone says she eats too much or occasionally dresses in a nerd-chic sort of way.

        Meanwhile, you know who plays conventionally unattractive male characters (who are also judged by unfair concepts of masculinity and Western beauty) in movies and television? Conventionally unattractive male actors.

         Fuck societal standards of beauty. And fuck the idea that our media is so entrenched in them that they can’t even get a woman who is divergent from those standards to play the character of a woman who is in fact divergent from those standards.

February 4, 2012
Dil Ki Hera Pheri: 17 things i've learned from watching america's next top model

supjeffreydahmer:

lauragpie:

1. you can’t be a model if you’re fat…unless you’re a certain kind of ‘fat’ (i.e. size 10. i.e. not even fat) then you can be a plus-size model.

2. you can’t be a model if you’re too skinny. if you’re too skinny then tyra will tell you to eat an avocado and kick you off the…

this is why ANTM was never something I genuinely wanted to do. All of this is so true.

So true that it hurts my brain. This show is basically about a bunch of adults (and though there are women like Tyra, the photographers are all basically men) pushing impressionable young women around, insulting them, and getting off on it. It is also remarkably racist.

(via opppperate)

February 4, 2012
Ladies, did you know that you can’t be happy and single on Valentine’s Day?

It’s true.

What, you didn’t know that? Have you been hiding under a rock?

Don’t agree? Don’t worry; the media has figured you out, too. See, you’re really just bitter and pretending to be okay without being in a relationship. You big liar. Oh, did I mention that your relationship is hetero? Of course it is. No? Well, maybe you’re just faking that, too.

After all, how in the name of God can a woman survive without a man on whom to dote? I mean, what would you do with all of the spare time otherwise allocated for doting?

In all seriousness, whether I spend Valentine’s Day alone, with a man, or with a woman, I intend to be very content. Mostly because I get chocolates from my friends.

And no, I’m not faking it.

February 2, 2012
"I swear to god I will lose my mind if I hear the “sex sells” fallacy one more time. Sex does not sell. If sex sold, we would see penises where we see boobs. Naked men would be on everything that naked women are on. Sex isn’t what they’re selling you. They’re selling you an impossible, pornographically fueled misogynistic idea of the perfect woman."

(via littlelightx)

Yes.

(via psdo)

So, all of you gentlemen who say this out there need to jump off of that misogynistic crazy train. It is taking you far, far away from logic.

(via i-post-sadness-and-cats-deactiv)

January 26, 2012
"

So my goal in writing this piece isn’t to hold him accountable–that’s already gone on. My goal in writing this is to answer his question. And since I recently gave a talk at Swarthmore on rape culture, I just so happen to have a bunch of examples and facts right at my fingertips.

First, the primary premise is flawed.

Damon seems to think that reinforcing to men that circumstances and consent are different things means that we are also letting women off the hook for reckless behavior. However, most men aren’t privy to all the rape prevention tactics women employ everyday, as a matter of course. (For the purposes of this discussion, the framing will be around cisgender, heterosexual men and women, though we are not the only people impacted by this type of thinking and this type of violence.)

I could share stories about being told from the time I started going out to always cover your drink with a napkin, never be alone after dark, always have your keys out in case of an attack, to never be alone with a guy you don’t know. I was also told not to open the door for boys I didn’t know, but in my case, it was the boy you kind of know that gets you. But I digress.

We could tell our stories all day, but where’s the data? When I presented at Swathmore, I ran a little experiment based on a question I had. How do men talk about rape? So I took it to the newsstands.

Interestingly, most men’s magazines don’t do “How Not to Rape” articles. They don’t really do “How Not to Get Raped Articles.” A further reading into what these articles were about revealed that most of the articles listed on men’s mags weren’t about rape at all–many were jokes about prison rape (or reviews of Oz) or contained the specific phrase “against abortion except in cases of rape of incest.” With one huge exception from Esquire‘s Tom Chiarella, the majority of men’s articles that mention rape aren’t actually dealing with the subject.

"

Latoya Peterson gives a great response to how pop culture does not teach men how not to rape (or to avoid becoming a rape victim) at the R today. (via racialicious

)

Holy crap people need to read this article. So important- for men and women.

(via letstalkaboutrape)

January 21, 2012
shin8shin:

heladofrito:

cloudsandtonfas:

x-crii-x:














beauty-in-the-attic:















Hey guys. I’m sure y’all have heard of SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and PIPA (Protect IP Act). These two bills will end the internet for good. And sites like Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, Wikipedia, Youtube, Google, and more will be banned. All of the American-based sites will no longer exist because of these 2 bills. That means no more Tumblr for all of us. Obama said no to this, which is good. But there will still be a voting in the US. These are the sponsors of SOPA and PIPA. I’m sorry to say that we’ll have to boycott them or else the internet will no longer exist. I know most of us buy things from these companies but this is really important. So if you live in America or an American citizen, please, please, PLEASE vote against this! And reblog this and spread the word!















REBLOG REBLOG REBLOG!!!















Stop SOPA! 

NINTENDO?!
I-I THOUGHT WE HAD SOMETHING, THOUGH…..

Wal-Mart? Fuck you. No one wants your things.

Remember about ACTA!

shin8shin:

heladofrito:

cloudsandtonfas:

x-crii-x:

beauty-in-the-attic:

Hey guys. I’m sure y’all have heard of SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and PIPA (Protect IP Act). These two bills will end the internet for good. And sites like Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, Wikipedia, Youtube, Google, and more will be banned. All of the American-based sites will no longer exist because of these 2 bills. That means no more Tumblr for all of us. Obama said no to this, which is good. But there will still be a voting in the US. These are the sponsors of SOPA and PIPA. I’m sorry to say that we’ll have to boycott them or else the internet will no longer exist. I know most of us buy things from these companies but this is really important. So if you live in America or an American citizen, please, please, PLEASE vote against this! And reblog this and spread the word!

REBLOG REBLOG REBLOG!!!

Stop SOPA! 

NINTENDO?!

I-I THOUGHT WE HAD SOMETHING, THOUGH…..

Wal-Mart? Fuck you. No one wants your things.

Remember about ACTA!

(via rosemary--and--time)

January 13, 2012

theowlintheolivetree:

Fifteen Minutes With You: A Brief List and Analysis of White Savior Films

iamabutchsolo:

A White Savior Film (WSF) is a movie that features a white person coming into the lives of a person or people of color (POCs) who are often low-income, troubled, and/or severely oppressed. The troubled times that the people of color are in can be a product of oppression from…

OH MY GOD I LOVE YOU I LOVE THIS LIST I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT BEING SO GODDAMNED TRUE.

Okay, sorry. Freaked out a bit there. But seriously, it’s frustrating enough that it’s all true, and even more frustrating that people do not want to acknowledge it. God forbid we notice bigotry in the media.

Personally, I believe that the white, heterosexual, cissexual messiah mentality really seeps into our culture. Little white children (and especially cis-boys, when it comes to being the ‘special’ or chosen one, like Paul Atreides in Dune) are being not-so-subtly indoctrinated with the beliefs that they a. are better than those who don’t fit the  white savior archetype, b. have a responsibility not to support but to save anyone who doesn’t fit the archetype, and c. that hard work and determination don’t fit into the equation for the special “chosen ones.”

Again, it isn’t bigoted to watch a film like this- the bigotry lies in the fact that this is the entire playing field of movies these days.

Okay, sorry. I’m too angry. Rant over.

(Source: daughterofmulan, via rosemary--and--time)

January 13, 2012
"[I]t is illegal for women to go topless in most cities, yet you can buy a magazine of a woman without her top on at any 7-11 store. So, you can sell breasts, but you cannot wear breasts, in America."

Violet Rose, in Three Steps to Better Sex (via muffdiver)

This reminds me of the post going around which contrasted the pathologizing of public breastfeeding with the gratuitous, objectifying images of women’s breasts that can be found in advertising.

The legal and social message is that our bodies are for purchase and exchange between men—and their liberty to buy us and sell us should never be infringed! NOT EVER! FIRST AMENDMENT! FIRST AMENDMENT!—not for us to do with as we please. Never that!

(via mswyrr)

(Source: slingshot.tao.ca, via letstalkaboutrape)

January 10, 2012

shin8shin:

cesaret:

mahuika:

lucy-in-the-soup-with-croutons:

Basically the shortest, yet most accurate, commentary on the differences between ads geared towards men and women I’ve ever seen.

AND YOUR CHILDREN’S CLOTHES ARE FILTHY

god, so accurate.

oh. my. 

EEeeexactly.

(Source: lucyinthesoupwithcroutons, via rosemary--and--time)

January 9, 2012
The Bechdel Test: What it is, and why it matters

shin8shin:

jamesalexander:

More on the Bechdel Test:

The Female Character Flowchart

Memo to all women: No half for you in Hollywood

Why film schools teach screenwriters not to pass the Bechdel test

Remember when I said they teach you not to write screenplays with women as leads?

the flowchart is flawless

But hey, sexism is dead, right? Just ask…well, don’t ask women, obviously, because no one wants to listen to those bitches.

Seriously, once you start filtering the media through the Bechdel Test, you start to realize exactly how much of it was not intended for women to enjoy or associate with.

(via rosemary--and--time)